books read in 2012

I’ve seen a few blogs recently where people posted their “top 10 favorite books of all time” or “top 10 books I ought to read.” I’d like to be able to join this elite class of people but I would have to admit that I’ve read more than ten books. Not only that but I would have had to have read a significant number of books so that I can choose a mere ten of my favorite from a large selection read over my adult lifetime. I’m told comic books don’t count.

I consider myself an average reader versus an avid reader. It is not because I do not enjoy reading, but I have little free time and many interests that must be spread out over that time. Nevertheless, as I look back on 2012 I can say I read more than one book and some of the books didn’t even have pictures. Many of them were not about architecture (**gasp**).

Here is a list of the books that I remember reading last year. Although I have focused my blog to explore topics of architecture I’m taking rare liberty in this post to include other books so you don’t think I am one-dimensional and to share my faith in Christ. I did start reading a few other architecture related books, but I’ll admit I just couldn’t finish them for various reasons. I’d share the reasons, but you’ll either be insulted that I thought your favorite book was boring, or you’ll consider me an ignoramus for not being able to keep my focus while reading the book.

Here’s my list

101 things

This is an easy read and technically it’s more of a reference. However, it was a refreshing reminder of my days in school and brought joy back to mind.

………………………….

Architectural-Drawing-Course Mo Zell

I know, another reference right? I think this is a must for all architects. The author communicates a wonderful and easy to follow guide to visual communication.

…………………………….

freehand sketching

Another reference book you say? Well, this was a pleasant read and most of you have caught on by now my feelings about sketching.

………………………………

house-black-swan-theory

A monograph…yes…a bit of Steven Holl’s architectural theory…oh yeah.

……………………………………

Material-Strategies_

This certainly does not read like a novel, but more like a cross between a technical reference and architectural theory.

It’s a nice balance between the two, but I could only read a small section at a time.

………………………………..

model_making_cover

Ok, many of you are catching on that I do a lot of reading to prepare to teach design studio to first year students.

………………………………

modern order robert gurney

Yes, this is purely a monograph, but his work is so nice to look at before I go to sleep. Also, I met him as he’s a really nice, humble guy.

………………………………..

NaturePlace_cover-214x300

A book that you have to read! This is a great book where the author teaches a new lesson each chapter by his personal letters to his friends about places he has visited.

……………………………….

the_architect_says_quotes_book

This is a great book to read a page or two before bed. It’s humorous and insightful, but it could certainly be read in one sitting.

………………

A few non-architectural books that actually require reading…these are not light topics though.

ManAlive_ARC_v1.indd

I am currently leading a Sunday School class for men using this book. It’s a must for any man who wants to know how to be truly alive and fulfill his seven most essential needs.

……………………………..

KnowingGod

Yes, this is the opposite of many of my easy read architecture books. It will certainly make you think and consider who is God and what is our response to Him.

…………………………….

reason_for_god

Tim Keller has a great style for getting one to think without being combative or defensive. You can’t ignore God after this book.

………………………………..

heaven is for real

This is a great story. It is certainly hard to explain but one cannot deny the author’s commitment to what they believe they experienced with their son.

…………………………….

battle for beginning

Yes, another heavy topic…you can see I save the heavy reading for non-architectural subjects.

………………………………..

Do you have any recommendations to share? I’d consider reading your suggestions. My current non-architectural list for 2013 is equally heavy. I need some lighter architectural material to fill in.

Happy New Year and thank you for reading.

P.S. If you wish to discuss non-architectural subjects, contact me personally. I’d love to discuss them with you. See the contact page. Despite this post, I plan on keeping think|architect focused on architecture and architects.

books read in 2012

12 thoughts on “books read in 2012

      1. Thanks Tara. I put it on my Amazon wish list. I’ll look into the free pages they post on Amazon to get a taste of it. I tend to purchase or stack up a pile of books and work at them over a period of time. Then I can read something that fits my mood or attention span in the evening. This one looks like a good read.

  1. Lee, excellent list. As soon as I win the lottery I’ll buy a few of the architecture books listed. 😛
    I have a spiritual book to suggest – The Shack by Wm Paul Young. It’s based on a true account and will seriously challenge your view of the truth of the Trinity. I suggest a full box of tissues while reading. Just sayin. 🙂
    Also, if you want some light historical fiction check out the Zion Chronicles by Bodie and Brock Thoene. They center around the foundation of the nation of Israel in the 1940s. Excellent stories and easy reads.
    Cheers.

  2. Edgar Brown says:

    Thanks for the list. My list would consist of a variety of how-to sketch books. Sketching is what brought me to architecture. Though I am not licensed, I still sketch just about everyday. I want to maintain that skill.

    1. I’d probably pick The Reason for God. If you’re struggling or searching for answers, this is a great book to get answers or point you in the right direction. If you are already a believer in Christ, it will be a great encouragement and help you communicate appropriately to others.

  3. Along the lines of architectural drawing I would recommend Thomas Wang’s Pencil Sketching. The second addition is the latest though I think the 1st addition written in 1977 was the best. Not something you would just read. I bought the 1st addition while in school and it really helped my sketching ability.

    1. edaleyjr@gmail.com says:

      I totally agree. I have both edition and continue to use them for refreshers. I had a habit of sketching in the book. That’s why I’ve kept them….they remind me of a time when I couldn’t sketch to save my life. 🙂
      Sent from my Verizon Wireless BlackBerry

Please leave a reply, and consider sharing this with a friend.

