can architecture make you smile?

Dear Clients (whether clients of mine or clients of all other architects)…

 First and foremost, I want to thank you for your past willingness to trust me (or some other architect) with the design of your project(s). For my clients, I am considering each and every one of you as I write this. Our experience together was more than a business relationship; it was a relationship that I hope to maintain forever. I am very conscious of the accountability on my part to take your investment and work with you to give you back meaningful architecture that you could inhabit whether for work, play or living.

As you can see I have created a blog to address how we as architects think. It’s not meant to be about me, but about architecture…although through my experiences and occasional irreverent humor. It is intended to initiate a dialogue about architecture, how architects think and hopefully demonstrate the value of architects and architecture in our daily lives. Think about it, studies show we will spend approximately 90% of our lives indoors. Therefore the “indoors” where you spend your one and only life does make a difference with the quality of your life. That makes a good case to upgrade at your next hotel stay or airplane flight.

Where I am hoping you can help is to think about your own architectural experiences, your work with me (or any other architect you have worked with in the past) and even related architectural experiences, trips, visits, and think of how your space makes you smile. How has architecture made your day or life better or enriched your family? Do I have you saying “hmmmm” now? Ok, now you’re thinking.

I suppose, on the other hand, you are welcome to give feedback for what other considerations we might have made now that you have moved in (go gently…architects’ egos are fragile). If you are still in the process, then please respond based on your experience(s) to date.

Was the experience of working with an architect fun? Was it worth it? Would you recommend it to others? Would you recommend your architect to others? Would you do it again?

rendering by Cathryn G. Kozar

I have read and written many responses to these types of questions and I conclude that others would rather read your reasons than mine. Think of value both from a financial investment as well as an experiential benefit. Are you glad you did it? Your comments will carry more weight to my readers and the general public.  I believe it would make a great blog post noting what clients are thinking.

I do not plan on listing names, just summarizing your anecdotes. So think carefully and be honest. I hope you have positive things to say. Feel free to leave comments on this blog. However, with respect to anecdotes about your project, please email me privately and I’ll list comments anonymously in a subsequent post.

I greatly appreciate your assistance and I treasure our relationship. Let me know if I can do something for you.

if this doesn’t make you smile…
can architecture make you smile?

Please leave a reply, and consider sharing this with a friend.

