10 good things about working solo

4 June 2014

607244_26034346 I am a solo practitionerI chose that after swearing I’d never do it.

It comes with pros and cons and it is certainly not for everyone. Now I find myself vocal for this group of professionals, especially architects. Today, we’ll laugh a little as I thought about why I enjoying working alone. Don’t worry, there will be another post for the other side.

 

1. I can come and go as I please without telling anyone or checking in

2. No one mistakenly eats my lunch from the refrigerator

3. Complete creative control 682313_73394523 4. I got to create the office standards

5. I get credit for my contributions to the project

6. I never have to wait for the bathroom 1077863_22538402 7. No one minds if I am barefoot

8. There is no burden about other mouths to feed

9. The phone is always for me yellow-flower-1-832856-m And the last reason I enjoy working solo…

10. I can play my favorite music (especially guilty-pleasure songs) loudly [don't ask because I'm not telling what they are.] 1355977_48512374 What are your reasons? I’d love to have a long list for another time.

photos are from stock photo galleries on FreeImages.com – click on photo to see author (used under the Standard Restrictions)

14 Responses to “10 good things about working solo”

  1. jane Says:

    I set the standards for my work,
    what jobs I take and which I suggest go to someone else
    how I approach a new job
    how I interact with clients and contractors
    how I bill
    how I research
    how I spec
    what I do pro bono

    I took off snow days with my children
    or scheduled around my Girl Scout troops, parent teacher conferences or school plays

    I chose to shift my emphasis, twice

    I chose to have compatriots instead of professional enemies


  2. I can choose to take my vacation when I want, for as long as I decide!

    • jane Says:

      I took a week off for the birth of a grandchild. The clients and contractors all knew I would be gone, but they didn’t know which day until it happened! They laughed, but no one objected, and the work survived just fine. The child and parents did too.


  3. 8. There is no burden about other mouths to feed?
    HA HA HA
    Really?

  4. jane Says:

    nor college tuitions to pay….


  5. […] think | architect about the positives of being a sole practitioner. You can read his post here- 10 good things about working solo. He asked for others thoughts on the matter and I needed a post topic accepted. There’ll also […]


  6. […] Calisti and Keith Palma have both come out with their top 10 reasons being a sole practitioner rocks. Keith even one-upped this by posting his top 10 reasons being a sole practitioner kinda sucks. […]


Please leave a reply, and consider sharing this with a friend.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,529 other followers

