make a difference…to one

22 November 2013

Career Fair Letter Edit

I spoke at a career fair at my high school last week. They ask me to come back each year and I talk mostly about architecture and very little about me. The students sent me wonderful thank you letters. Surprise–this made me think.

I write and I rant, I comment and I complain.
I post and I preach, sometimes I talk and I teach.

I love this profession; I love architecture.

This event taught me; make a difference, to someone. It’s worth it.

6 Responses to “make a difference…to one”

  1. Collier Ward Says:

    Keep up the good work, Lee!

  2. tbryanm Says:

    I recently received an email from a 1st year architecture student asking about “the life of an architect”. She has the talent but not the passion and wanted to know if architects make a lot of money. Yes, it makes one stop and think. It took me a couple days to come up with a response that was both honest and inspiring. The former was easy, it was the latter that took a lot of thought.

  3. Ted Rusnak Says:

    Lee, I’ve been doing these presentations off and on for a few years, as well as having high school senior interns for a month at the end of their HS careers. It is a rewarding experience that requires one to reflect on one’s own choices and in some ways act as a filter to those on the fence about their own career choices.

    • leecalisti Says:

      There is never time to help someone else, but if we care about our profession, we must make time. Also, I don’t follow the “day in the life” suggestions because that doesn’t capture what we do. It’s cool to get one student respond.


Please leave a reply, and consider sharing this with a friend.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,574 other followers

